Official PC thread.

Mark Antony

Supporter
47,135
51,256
Joined Apr 30, 2010
I'm so tempted, but at the moment my i7 6700k, 1070, 32gb still kicks butt and does everything I need to.
 
846
51
Joined Apr 20, 2001
Are there any recommendations for a decent cheap laptop? Mostly going to use if for the internet and occasional word document. But not a chromebook. Thanks!
 
47,795
35,025
Joined Dec 8, 2006
Need to upgrade my mobo so I can get a better CPU. My AMD chip isn't bad but it's not strong enough for the things I really want to do.
 
27,249
11,495
Joined Sep 10, 2011
So picked up some new speakers and a subwoofer a couple months ago.

My G602 died so also got a Razer Basilisk Hyperspeed.

Next up is to maybe sell my 240hz for a new primary monitor. Or maybe go a vertical stack setup .. still considering both.

Also thinking of getting Holy Panda switches, but won't get here until June ...
 

Attachments

Last edited:

GreenNGold89

formerly bbllplaya23
6,106
1,123
Joined Apr 5, 2005
I don't really know where else to post this but wondering if someone can help me out. I have an ASUS router and the 2.4Ghz it gives off is horrible in my house. The 5GHz is much faster and I've had no issues with it reaching all parts of my house. The problem is I have some equipment downstairs (camera, ring doorbell, etc.) that only take 2.4Ghz. Is there any configurations on my router I can do to try to improve the 2.4Ghz speed? Sounds like I probably have a bunch of traffic or conflicting signals with the 2.4Ghz in my house. I bought a wifi extender to place downstairs but it's basically useless. The 2.4Ghz signal downstairs is like 5Mbps and is so bad the camera and doorbell lose signal.

Do you guys think a mesh system would resolve my issues?

Sorry if I use some of the wrong language, this is new to me. :lol:
 
27,522
14,585
Joined Jul 22, 2012
I don't really know where else to post this but wondering if someone can help me out. I have an ASUS router and the 2.4Ghz it gives off is horrible in my house. The 5GHz is much faster and I've had no issues with it reaching all parts of my house. The problem is I have some equipment downstairs (camera, ring doorbell, etc.) that only take 2.4Ghz. Is there any configurations on my router I can do to try to improve the 2.4Ghz speed? Sounds like I probably have a bunch of traffic or conflicting signals with the 2.4Ghz in my house. I bought a wifi extender to place downstairs but it's basically useless. The 2.4Ghz signal downstairs is like 5Mbps and is so bad the camera and doorbell lose signal.

Do you guys think a mesh system would resolve my issues?

Sorry if I use some of the wrong language, this is new to me. :lol:
Mesh router is definitely an option. How old is your ASUS router?
 

Mark Antony

Supporter
47,135
51,256
Joined Apr 30, 2010
Yeah a mesh wireless setup where you can place one of the units near the devices would be your best bet. Still might be limited by the camera though.
 

GreenNGold89

formerly bbllplaya23
6,106
1,123
Joined Apr 5, 2005
Mesh router is definitely an option. How old is your ASUS router?
It's about 2 years old. I can send the model once I am back home. My question about the mesh system is, if my 2.4Ghz is so bad in my house right now, how would a mesh fix that? Example, if I test speeds in my house, the 2.4Ghz can be as low as 20-30Mbps standing right next to the router (5Ghz is 150-200Mbps in the same spot) and then by the time I'm downstairs it's non-existent. Do you think there are issues with the router itself?
 
27,522
14,585
Joined Jul 22, 2012
It's about 2 years old. I can send the model once I am back home. My question about the mesh system is, if my 2.4Ghz is so bad in my house right now, how would a mesh fix that? Example, if I test speeds in my house, the 2.4Ghz can be as low as 20-30Mbps standing right next to the router (5Ghz is 150-200Mbps in the same spot) and then by the time I'm downstairs it's non-existent. Do you think there are issues with the router itself?
It's possible. Always good to check the router's firmware to see if it's up to date.

You mentioned that you bought a network extender, but didn't resolve the issue. How many items do you have using the network? If a lot, I do recommend getting a mesh router: Google, Netgear Orbi, Eero.
 

GreenNGold89

formerly bbllplaya23
6,106
1,123
Joined Apr 5, 2005
It's possible. Always good to check the router's firmware to see if it's up to date.

You mentioned that you bought a network extender, but didn't resolve the issue. How many items do you have using the network? If a lot, I do recommend getting a mesh router: Google, Netgear Orbi, Eero.
Only have 1 item on the extender but added 2 more yesterday, so 3 total. The speed was an issue even when only 1 item was on it. I'll check the firmware tonight. Thanks!
 
27,522
14,585
Joined Jul 22, 2012
Only have 1 item on the extender but added 2 more yesterday, so 3 total. The speed was an issue even when only 1 item was on it. I'll check the firmware tonight. Thanks!
Placement of the device plays a role too. Older homes uses material that interfere with wifi signals.

If you have some devices that you could connect with an ethernet cable, I'd recommend that as another option.
 
3,602
1,196
Joined Aug 26, 2009
It's about 2 years old. I can send the model once I am back home. My question about the mesh system is, if my 2.4Ghz is so bad in my house right now, how would a mesh fix that? Example, if I test speeds in my house, the 2.4Ghz can be as low as 20-30Mbps standing right next to the router (5Ghz is 150-200Mbps in the same spot) and then by the time I'm downstairs it's non-existent. Do you think there are issues with the router itself?
A mesh would help slightly, but I think what you need to do is figure out what channels are crowded on the 2.4 network. Do a network scan, there are a few apps, but my Unifi router does it for me. 2.4 is the more common frequency, so everyone around you may be using it which is why 5 usually works betters, the general public rely on that frequency less and it has less distance ability.

How close are you to neighbors? It could be a signal strength issue and a mesh network would help a ton.
 

GreenNGold89

formerly bbllplaya23
6,106
1,123
Joined Apr 5, 2005
Placement of the device plays a role too. Older homes uses material that interfere with wifi signals.

If you have some devices that you could connect with an ethernet cable, I'd recommend that as another option.
Man I got a brand new home (well 2 years old) and the signal downstairs is a joke. :lol:

I can hardwire 1 of the 3 devices but the other two have to be on wifi.
 

GreenNGold89

formerly bbllplaya23
6,106
1,123
Joined Apr 5, 2005
A mesh would help slightly, but I think what you need to do is figure out what channels are crowded on the 2.4 network. Do a network scan, there are a few apps, but my Unifi router does it for me. 2.4 is the more common frequency, so everyone around you may be using it which is why 5 usually works betters, the general public rely on that frequency less and it has less distance ability.

How close are you to neighbors? It could be a signal strength issue and a mesh network would help a ton.
They are townhomes so we are very close to our neighbors. Can you recommend an app for the network scan if you know off one?
 
3,602
1,196
Joined Aug 26, 2009
They are townhomes so we are very close to our neighbors. Can you recommend an app for the network scan if you know off one?
Not sure what kind of devices you own but if you have an iphone maybe this link will help.


You want to see which channels are being used, and set your router to not be on those channels. 5ghz has a lot more channels which helps it perform better. Problem is 5ghz signal isnt as strong, and the device has to support it.
 
6,990
1,360
Joined Aug 30, 2012
Finally put together my PC while on self quarantine.

Fractal Design Define R6, 2070 Super, 3900X, 64 GB of RAM (for IT labbing), 2 TB 7200 HDD and Sabra 1 TB SSD.

Just need an OS. I bought Windows LTSC license from s-CD key. Definitely sketchy.
 
3,602
1,196
Joined Aug 26, 2009
Finally put together my PC while on self quarantine.

Fractal Design Define R6, 2070 Super, 3900X, 64 GB of RAM (for IT labbing), 2 TB 7200 HDD and Sabra 1 TB SSD.

Just need an OS. I bought Windows LTSC license from s-CD key. Definitely sketchy.
if you need a place to buy a windows key let me know. I just bought one yday for my new MBP, was like 11 or 12 bucks. legit as well, got the link from a popular youtubers tutorial.
 
Top Bottom
  AdBlock Detected

Sure, ad-blocking software does a great job at blocking ads, but it also blocks some useful and important features of our website. For the best possible site experience please take a moment to disable your AdBlocker or head over to our upgrade page to donate for an ad-free experience Upgrade now